shiftskybird.blogg.se

Aperture app for mac
Aperture app for mac










aperture app for mac

As long as Apple doesn't screw up the library or have frequent downtime, I'm okay with the $9.99/month for this service. I had to bump my iCloud plan to a 1TB plan, since my entire consolidated photo library (with 40,000+ 20-40 MB RAW files, JPEGs, and short video clips) is a hair shy of 600 GB. I abandoned my loupe, my tens of thousands of star ratings and labeled 'face' data, and started the process of moving all my photos from six separate Aperture libraries into one Photos library, synced to my iCloud Photo Library.

  • Photos has 90% of the features I regularly used in Aperture.
  • Photos (somewhat) seamlessly syncs all my RAW photos between Macs and iOS devices.
  • Photos offers iCloud Photo Library, which allows me to store all my photos in the cloud, and have 'light' copies of my library on my Macs and iOS devices where space is a concern.
  • Aperture compatibility with Sierra and future macOS versions is getting worse and worse (since it's not maintained anymore).
  • #Aperture app for mac license#

    I have a license for Creative Cloud, so I kicked Lightroom's tires, but found it to be clumsy and bloated (like many of the other CC apps nowadays.), and worst of all-even slower than Photos for my batch sorting and editing workflow!Īfter doing some tests with Lightroom and Photos, I chose to finally ditch Aperture and switch to Photos because: Some pros decided to go all-in to Adobe Lightroom. Even things like switching quickly between editing and browsing photos are annoying, since there's a mandatory animation that takes an extra 1/3 second every time I flip between photos! Things like the loupe tool and star ratings are missing entirely, and adjustment sets and workspace layouts are present but weak. Photos, more the successor to iPhotos, is a consumer-oriented tool, with a decent toolset, but very little workflow customization and limited photo adjustments and inspection tools.

    aperture app for mac

    It was fast, it had tons of great organizational features, and was highly adaptable. Aperture was by far my favorite tool for both organizing and manipulating RAW photos taken with my DSLRs. There are many, many photographers who were disappointed Apple decided to discontinue Aperture development. but it's not the end of the world moving to Photos. All-in-all, I wish Apple didn't ditch Aperture. Tl dr: ~600 GB photo library, took ~3 weeks to migrate, some things are awesome (access to all my photos everywhere, on any device), some things less so (faces don't get synced, no loupe, no five-star rating system, no pro-level editing/batch workflows).












    Aperture app for mac